This past weekend, My mom and I went to Nashville to do some wedding planning. Because I am currently in Texas and she is in North Carolina, this will probably be the only weekend we have before the wedding to actually plan stuff! It was a packed weekend full of laughs, tears, joy and lots of food!!! I just love Nashville, it’s such a wonderful city with all kinds of things to do and explore. We stayed away from music row this trip as we wanted more quiet and time to really think out and plan stuff for the wedding. Thursday night we went to Whiskey Kitchen for dinner. What an awesome place! We sat at the bar and ordered a bunch of appetizers to share since neither of us were really hungry. Aptly named, they have a lot of great whiskey drinks so we sampled some! At handsome and I’s wedding we are having a signature cocktail and have been debating for awhile about what to make for it. We asked the bartender what a great but simple whiskey drink would be and he whipped up a couple for us to try! My favorite (and hopefully our signature drink) is Jack Daniels (for Tennessee, of course), a splash of homemade ginger simple syrup and a squeeze of lemon. I thought it would be way too strong but I LOVED it. It was the perfect balance and I think a great option for our wedding. By the way, if you ever find yourself in Nashville and want to try Whiskey Kitchen, their Sweet Potato Fries and The Aristocrat wings were AMAZING! I apologize for the shameless selfie below too…

IMG_20130415_160031 IMG_20130413_075303

Friday was a whirlwind day. I really wanted to get a picture of my outfit cause it was super cute but alas, I forgot! Ah well, it will be another outfit for another day! We started off with cake tasting at Dulce Desserts and I am so freaking excited about our dessert bar, I can’t stand it! Dulce makes some unbelievable cake flavors and their buttercream icing is to die for! Can’t wait to see all of that set up the way we envisioned it! After indulging on lots of cake, we walked around the Nashville Farmer’s Market then headed off to Franklin, TN and ate a quick bite at Merridee’s Breadbasket which was fantastic. They have some great desserts to satisfy your sweet tooth! Franklin is such a cute little town with a bustling downtown area and lots of awesome shops. However, we had to run off to our hair trial at Wedding 101,which is a neat studio where a bride can get everything she needs in one place for her wedding! I love my hair/makeup lady for the wedding so much. She did a fabulous job and I know she will make me look beautiful for our wedding day! After exploring Franklin for a bit, we headed back to Nashville and ate at Puckett’s for dinner. Oh my is this place delicious. Just home cookin’ type food. We tried the BBQ and the Fried Chicken. I’m not a big fan of Fried Chicken but this was DELICIOUS. Sufficiently stuffed, we headed back to our hotel to do some logistical planning for the wedding. 

2013-04-12 10.23.41

2013-04-12 11.33.312013-04-12 11.26.14

2013-04-12 12.41.30 2013-04-12 15.36.31

IMG_20130413_075151IMG_20130415_160426  

Saturday was mainly spent at the venue trying our rehearsal dinner food (YUM!) and touring the site for details we needed planned out. I am so excited about getting married about this BEAUTIFUL spot. Hachland Hill Vineyards is our dream location and I know it will be perfect! Below are a couple of pictures of the barn where our reception will be held. Isn’t it beautiful!? That night was spent with Handsome’s mom, Lia, at her house just having some needed girl time. We are so fortunate that our mothers get along and I know it will be a great friendship from here on out! 

barn creek

All in all, a great weekend. I am so excited about our wedding and can’t believe it’s only 6 months away. It can’t come soon enough! 

Hope you all have a great week!!

Xo

