“Owners of dogs will have noticed that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they will think you are god. Whereas owners of cats are compelled to realize that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they draw the conclusion that they are gods.” 
― Christopher HitchensThe Portable Atheist: Essential Readings for the Nonbeliever

Handsome and I are dog people. Plain and simple. We started our relationship with one pup and have now grown to a family of five (three dogs, if you can’t do math or actually think I’d have a child yet!). I got Taz when he was a baby and it has been such a sweet 8 years of my life. He has the biggest personality and loves to yell at you in his own Taz way. For those of you who have met him, you know exactly what I’m talking about. He thinks he is the BIGGEST man on campus and no one, and I mean no one, is going to take his stick away from him during fetch. He’s the best and I know behind those beautiful brown eyes, there is wisdom. He wanted nothing to do with my camera in his face so he hid from me like a famous celebrity. I had to crawl under the table to get this one!

Aviary Photo_130092539279840302 (1)

A couple of years ago I got an itch for another dog and luckily Davey entertained me on it. I started searching the web for dogs needing a good home and came across an ad for a precious goldendoodle who was about 1.5 years old and needed re-homing. The owner had too many dogs and needed to give a few up so we met them immediately and took Maggie off their hands. I don’t think the living situation was very good for Ms. Maggie because she was very timid and shy and looked terrible. We took her home and immediately cleaned her and gave her all kinds of love. Taz was not thrilled about this new addition but he eventually came around! Now, they are good buddies and Maggie looks after Taz like a momma, cleaning his eyes and what not. She has added some energy into our clan as she is always bouncing off the walls and any mud puddle is her best friend.

Aviary Photo_130092541391526359

Last but not least, there is Aero. Last summer Davey moved down to Texas for a few weeks without me. He decided to cure his loneliness by purchasing a great dane puppy. He has always wanted a great dane and saw it as a perfect opportunity. He says that I lead him to this decision by sending him pictures of puppies, I disagree. As a baby, Aero was diagnosed with Parvo and the chances were bleak. However, Davey worked around the clock to make sure he had the best care possible and the little guy (at that point!) pulled through. We are so happy too because he has absolutely stolen our hearts! He is the biggest baby and just wants to cuddle up in your lap. At 10 months he is 33 inches tall and a measly 150 pounds. A lap dog indeed.

Aviary Photo_130092538984137704

At times, they drive us absolutely insane. And at 7am on a Saturday when they are whining to go out, we often look at each other and wonder why we did this to ourselves. However, when they are all galloping (Taz not so much) around the yard playing, we are quickly reminded of how much joy they bring us.

Aviary Photo_130092538706365187

(Taz did not want to be apart of the group picture)

So, I told you there would be posts on our pups and here is the first of many. We love these guys so much!

